Lifestyles Guide

List Of Nigerian Presidents and Vice Presidents From 1966 – Present, 2024

Exploring the political tapestry of Nigeria, from the tumultuous years of 1966 to the present day, reveals a dynamic landscape shaped by a succession of leaders. Let’s embark on a journey through the corridors of power, tracing the footsteps of Nigerian Presidents and Vice Presidents.


Aguiyi Ironsi Babafemi Ogundipe Military 16/1/1966- 29/7/1966
Yakubu Gowon Joseph Edet A. Wey Military 29/7/1966- 19/7/1975
Murtala Mohammed Olusegun Obasanjo Military 29/7/1975-13/2/1975
Olusegun Obasanjo Shehu Musa Yar’dua Military 13/2/1976-30/9/1979
Shehu Shagari Alex Ekwueme Military 1/10/1979-31/12/1983
Muhammadu Buhari Tunde Idiagbon Military 31/12/1985-27/8/1985
Ibrahim Babangida Ebitu Ukiwe Military 27/8/1985-17/10/1986
Ibrahim Babangida Augustu Aikhomu Military 17/10/1986-17/11/1993
Sani Abacha Oladipo Diya Military 17/11/1993-9/6/1998
Abdulsalam Abubakar Mike Akhigbe Military 9/6/1998-29/5/1999
Olusegun Obasanjo Atiku Abubakar Democratic 29/5/1999-29/5/2007
UmaruMusa Yar’Adua Goodluck Jonathan Democratic 29/5/2007-19/5/2010
Goodluck Jonathan Alh. M. Namadi Sambo Democratic 19/5/2010-29/5/2015
Muhammadu Buhari Yemi Osinbajo Democratic 29/5/2015-29/5/2023
Bola Ahmed Tinubu Kashim Shettima Democratic 29/5/2023-

It’s important to note that the Fourth Republic began on May 29, 1999, after several years of military rule. Since then, Nigeria has transitioned to democratic rule, and the country has had several presidential and vice-presidential elections. Each administration has had its unique challenges, ranging from economic issues to security concerns.

Olusegun Obasanjo served as the president of Nigeria from 1999 to 2007. During his tenure, he oversaw several important reforms, including the establishment of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) and the Independent Corrupt Practices and Other Related Offences Commission (ICPC). He also led several peacekeeping efforts in Africa, including in Liberia and Sierra Leone.

Umaru Musa Yar’Adua succeeded Obasanjo in 2007 but passed away in office on May 5, 2010, due to illness. Goodluck Jonathan, his vice president, then took over and served as president until 2015. During his tenure, Nigeria faced several security challenges, including the rise of Boko Haram, a militant Islamist group operating in the country’s northeast.

Muhammadu Buhari, a former military leader, was elected president in 2015 and re-elected in 2019. His administration has focused on several key areas, including fighting corruption and improving security. However, Nigeria still faces several challenges, including economic issues and ongoing security concerns.

The current Nigerian President is Bola Ahmed Tinubu.


In retrospect, the journey of Nigerian Presidents and Vice Presidents is a tapestry woven with threads of challenges, triumphs, and continuous transformation. As the nation strides into the future, the legacies of its leaders become the guiding lights.

Discover more from NaijaCurrent

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading